I heart Jeff Bezos

July 23, 2009 at 11:56 pm 2 comments

If you hadn’t heard, Amazon bought Zappos. And Bezos the CEO? He’s the real deal.

Every product manager dreams of working for someone that really “gets it”. Jeff Bezos is most definitely that person (Jeff, hire me!). In his video introduction to the Zappos team, embedded below, Bezos summarizes the four things he knows:

  1. Obsess over customers (sounds like knowing your market to me!)
  2. Invent (the synonym to innovation, my favorite topic)
  3. Think long term (as in a product roadmap?)
  4. Its always Day 1 (research, strategize, execute, analyze, REPEAT!)

There is most certainly more to product management on a day-to-day basis, but these four points encompass the true essence of what we all strive to do as product managers (and what we’d like to be encouraged to do as well – a fair distinction).

I was initially a bit wary about the purchase. It certainly makes strategic sense for Amazon, but what if Amazon ruins the wonderful culture and customer experience that Zappos has created? (This is in fact a selfish question – I’m a huge Zappos customer, as my closet attests). Bezos has not only set my mind at ease, he has also impressed me. Given what he “knows”, I now feel more comfortable that Zappos’ values will be embraced by Amazon, and my free shipping rights will remain. Yah!

So cheers to Jeff Bezos and building monopolies! I just had to throw a little bit of irony into the post. 😉

Entry filed under: product management. Tags: .

Revised Pragmatic Marketing Framework Customer Interviews made easy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stewart Rogers  |  July 24, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Great video!

    Reply
  • 2. Allan Neil  |  July 29, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Some great words of wisdom from Jeff.

    I think my favorite is “It’s always Day One”. I love that.

    Continuous innovation/renewal.

    Thanks for that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Stream

  • A word of warning...my Twitter account was hacked today. I deleted the offending post, but if you see a suspicious post by me, don't click! 5 years ago
  • Past life celebrities that need more Twitter followers. Follow them. Do it now! ;-) buzzfeed.com/samir/the-sadd… 5 years ago
  • Today I learned that pressing the "stop" button on a Melbourne tram stops the tram...in the middle of the road where there's no stop. Woops! 5 years ago

