Customer Interviews made easy

October 22, 2009 at 6:29 pm Leave a comment

 

If you’re a product manager, you probably spend a portion of your time doing customer interviews – trying to understand the needs of your customer, and how your product does or doesn’t fit those needs.

What tool are you using for this activity? You’re not likely to use a video camera – you’re on site at your customer’s location, or in a coffee shop, etc. A camera would make the customer uncomfortable. You might be using a digital tape recorder, but how much of that interview do you really go back and listen to? Its just too long and tedious.

So if you’re like most of us, you’re relying on good old pen and paper. My handwriting is chicken scratch to begin with, so when I’m writing really quickly (the customer shares so many great insights and I don’t want to miss any!) it gets even worse. When I review my notes later, there are portions I just can’t remember and my handwriting really isn’t helping me out.

Enter the Pulse Smartpen – it records the conversation, keeps track of what you’ve written, and syncs up the two click on parts of your notes to hear that part of the conversation. Watch this video to see it in action:

I haven’t bought this product yet, so I can’t speak to how well it works, but if it does what it says it does, I see this as being an indispensable tool for customer interviews going forward. Can’t wait to try it!

Have experience with the product? Let me know what you think by leaving a comment!

Entry filed under: product management. Tags: , , .

I heart Jeff Bezos Product Management Mentorship Program

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Twitter Stream

  • A word of warning...my Twitter account was hacked today. I deleted the offending post, but if you see a suspicious post by me, don't click! 4 years ago
  • Past life celebrities that need more Twitter followers. Follow them. Do it now! ;-) buzzfeed.com/samir/the-sadd… 4 years ago
  • Today I learned that pressing the "stop" button on a Melbourne tram stops the tram...in the middle of the road where there's no stop. Woops! 5 years ago

